The Agricultural Economics Society Company Limited by Guarantee No. 4323127

Minutes of the 92nd Annual General Meeting of The Agricultural Economics Society held on Tuesday 28th March 2023 @ 09.00hrs at The University of Warwick, UK

AES President Jonathan Brooks opened the meeting at 09.00hrs and thanked everyone for attending.

- 1. Members who have passed away since the last AGM (President)
 Derek Belshaw and Graham Donaldson.
- 2. <u>Minutes of 91st AGM held at KU Leuven, Belgium on 5th April 2022 (President)</u> The minutes of the 91st Annual General Meeting held on 5th April 2022 were approved, proposed by David Blandford and seconded by Bob Bansback.
- 3. <u>Matters arising (President)</u>
 There were no matters arising
- 4. Election of Officers and Executive Committee The Chair reported that Allan Butler and Janet Dwyer (Past President) retire from the Executive having reached the end of their terms of office, while Deb Roberts becomes President-Elect. Wilfrid Legg and Derek Shepherd agreed to serve for a further year as Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer respectively. Brendan Bayley becomes President (2023-24) following the AGM. Following retirements and changes in positions on the Executive there was one vacancy on the Executive but as there was no nomination the Executive invited the nomination of Sarah Baker (AHDB), and she was duly elected. Tim Lloyd (EAAE and IAAE Liaison Officer) and Neil Chalmers (Social Media Manager) remain in exofficio roles. David Harvey and John Davis remain as Chief Editors of the JAE and EuroChoices respectively. Frederic Ang retires as Conference Programme Secretary and Hervé Dakpo was welcomed as the new Programme Secretary.
- 5. <u>Treasurer's Report and re-appointment of Handley Chartered Accountants (Derek Shepherd)</u>

The Hon. Treasurer headlined the Society's accounts for 2022 as follows:

 2022 subscriptions
 £21,812

 2022 royalties
 £99,325

 Overall surplus:
 £92,047

The market value of the investments as at 24.03.2023 was £181,330. Approval of the 2022 accounts was proposed by Janet Dwyer and seconded by Caroline Saunders. Following the change of Independent External Accountant agreed at a Extraordinary General Meeting in December 2022, the Society reappointed Handleys in Banbury. The Treasurer reported that the Society remains solvent and in a good position with regards to its reserves. The Treasurer agreed to inform the membership of the contents of the investment portfolio in due course.

Suggestions for use of surplus AES funds came from Richard Tranter, Bruce Traill and Carmen Hubbard. The Executive welcomed these suggestions and asked for follow up by email. The

The Agricultural Economics Society Company Limited by Guarantee No. 4323127

Hon. Treasurer pointed out that the Society needs to be aware that the financial situation could come under pressure given possible changes in the publishing environment, noting that the Society's contract with Wiley is due for renewal in 2026. The Chair thanked Derek for his excellent stewardship of the Society's finances.

6. Report of Executive Committee (Steve Ramsden) The Chair of the Executive delivered his report via a PowerPoint presentation, which will be made available on the AES website and annexed to the Minutes of this AGM. Membership in 2022 was 400. The Annual Conference in 2022 took place at KU Leuven. The joint Defra one-day conference took place at Nobel House on 9th December 2022, with 74 people registered on the theme of 'Agricultural Productivity' The Chair thanked Euan Gilchrist and Max Sayer-Martin for the smooth running of the conference. The 2024 Annual Conference is planned for 18th – 20th March 2024 at Edinburgh University.

The Chief Editors' reports on the JAE and EuroChoices are annexed to these Minutes. In both cases, the journals are performing very well, and downloads of articles are increasing.

The AES Awards for Excellence were given to Diogo Souza Monteiro (Outstanding Contribution to Teaching and Learning), Imre Fertő (Outstanding Lifetime Achievement in Research and Contribution to the Society), Dr Carmen Hubbard (Outstanding Contribution to Research and the Society), and Frederic Ang (Outstanding Contribution to the Society).

The Prize Essay was awarded to Curtis Rollins, Ph.D Candidate at the University of Western Australia, for his essay entitled 'Investigating cost non-attendance as a driver of inflated welfare estimates in mixed-logit models' which will be published in the JAE, with acknowledgment of funding from the David Blandford Prize Essay Fund. Poster prizes were awarded to Cecilia Larsson of Lund University (with Mark Brady) for their poster 'Modelling land use change from subsidies promoting energy crop production' and Emmanuel Peter of University of Nottingham (with Steve Ramsden and Emmanuel Peter) for the poster 'Modelling risks and constraints among smallholder farmers in North-East Nigeria'.

The best Ph.D presentation at the conference was awarded to Ella Kirchner from the University of Göttingen for her paper on 'Assessing digital opportunities for the distribution and product design of agricultural microinsurance'.

Honorary membership of the Society has been awarded to David Blandford and Katharina Hassapoyannes.

7. Votes of Thanks (President)

The Chairman thanked the Chairman (Stephen Ramsden), Hon. Secretary (Wilfrid Legg), Hon. Treasurer (Derek Shepherd) the out-going members of the Executive (Allan Butler and Janet Dwyer) the incoming president (Brendan Bayley), Frederic Ang who retires as Conference Programme Secretary and Neil Chalmers for continuing the ex-officio role of Social Media Manager, the EAAE and IAAE Liaison Officer (Tim Lloyd) and the AES Administrator (Katy Thorne). He also thanked Chief Editors of the Society's journals David Harvey (JAE) and John Davis

The Agricultural Economics Society Company Limited by Guarantee No. 4323127

Any Other Business (President) Items for the next AES Newsletter should be sent to Wilfrid Legg (wilfrid legg@hotmail.com) by 1 July 2023.
<u>The Chair closed the AGM at 9.45</u> , welcoming the incoming President (Brendan Bayley, HM Treasury) and invited him to deliver his Presidential Address on 'Because it Matters!'.
Treasury) and invited fill to deliver his Presidential Address on Because it Matters: .

Signed______Date____