Forgotten password or problems logging in? 
Click here to have your password emailed to you

Prize Essay Competition


Prize Essay Competition

The Agricultural Economics Society Prize Essay Award is supported by the David Blandford and Katharine Hassapoyannes Endowment Trust.

The Agricultural Economics Society invites the submission of essays on the following conditions.

(a) In the year of submission, the lead author must be within six years of first graduation or, in the case of non-graduates, under 35 years old.

(b) The subject, chosen by the author, may deal with any aspect of agricultural economics. Essays should be presented in the style and length appropriate to a paper (7,000 words) submitted for publication in the Journal of Agricultural Economics. (Guidelines for submission, including subjects covered, are contained on the inside back cover of each issue of the Journal, and on the Journal website).

(c) Essays must be accompanied by a declaration from the author(s) or supervisor that they are the work of the author(s). Preference will be given to essays based upon the original work and experience of the author(s).  Where the essay draws on the work and experience of others, including supervisors, full reference must be given.

(d) Anonymous entries should be submitted by 30th November, and sent as an electronic attachment (pdf) with a covering letter containing the author’s details, to the Secretary of the AES, c/o secretariat@aes.ac.uk

(e) The prize will be awarded to an essay, or essays, judged to be suitable, after any revision that may be proposed by the Editorial Committee, for publication in the Journal of Agricultural Economics. The author(s) of the winning essay(s) will be invited to make a presentation of their essay(s), in a form to be determined by the AES Programme Secretary and to receive the Award and commemorative medal, at the subsequent AES Annual Conference.

(f) A panel of Associate Editors will act as judges, with discretion to award prize money of £3,000 for any winning essay, or for that prize money to be divided among more than one winning essay.  Their decision will be final. 

Past winners of the Prize Essay Competition (the year shown is that in which the award was presented)

1963 J.B.Dent
1964 J.Dixon
1965 No award made
1966 D.R.Colman & G.E.Dalton
1967 A.J.Rayner
1968 L.D.McClements
1969 No award made
1970 J.Lingard
1971 H.Wagstaff & J.O.S.Kennedy
1972 D.Blandford
1973 T.J.Ryan
1974 No award made
1975 No award made
1976 No award made
1977 M.Hector & D.M.Shucksmith
1978 E.J.Woods & P.J.Dawson
1979 No award made
1980 No award made
1981 P.Townsend
1982 M.Burton
1983 G.N.Robinson
1984 J.R.Coleman & P.M.de Kobbe
1985 B.White
1986 No award made
1987 No award made
1988 J.G.Beynon
1989 D.Pannell
1990 R.Tiffin
1991 A.J.Balance
1992 T.A.Lloyd
1993 D.N.Cooper
1944 No award made
1995 A.Bailey & P.Vaze
1996 S.S.Hussain
1997 Klaus Salhofer
1998 Mary Keeney
1999 Andrew Barnes
2000 No award made
2001 Atanu Ghoshray
2002 Habtu Weldegebriel
2003 No award made
2004 No award made
2005 No award made
2006 Abbie McCartney
2007 Danny Campbell
2008 Laura Greig
2009 Doris Laepple & Graeme Doole
2010 No award made
2011 Giacomo Zanello & Luca Panzone
2012 Marit Kragt
2013 No award made
2014 No award made 
2015 Frederic Ang & Pieter Jan Kerstens.  Rebecca Owusu.
2016 Hao Lan
2017 Alaya Spencer-Cotton
2018 Judith Hillen
2019 Monserrath Ximena Lascano Galarza
2020 Le Ngoc Lan

Entries must be received by 30th November

AES Annual Conference 2021
29th & 30th March 2021...more

AES Newsletter
July 2021...more

01/08/2021 - 03/08/2021, Austin, Texas, USA
2021 AAEA Annual Meeting...more