Forgotten password or problems logging in? 
Click here to have your password emailed to you

Annual Conference

The 97th Annual Conference of The Agricultural Economics Society will be held at The University of Warwick, UK - 27th - 29th March 2023.

Conference Flyer 2023

Booking information 2023

The Conference features a Keynote Address by Prof. Erik Mathijs (KULeuven, Belgium) on sustainable and healthy diets and a Plenary Session on the costs and benefits of increasing the organic agricultural area led by Dr Alisa Spiegel (Thünen Institute, Germany).  Plenary session “Opportunities and failures of policy on organic agriculture” session outline

The Presidential Address will be given by Brendan Bayley (HM Treasury, United Kingdom).

Dr Hervé Dakpo (INRAE, France) will give a masterclass on efficiency analysis. Keep an eye on the website for further updates on the programme.

The Agricultural Economics Society explicitly intends to support early-career researchers by awarding a prize for the best presentation by a PhD student in the contributed paper sessions and two best poster prizes for early-career researchers.

Call for Papers

Each year a diverse set of papers, centred on the discipline of Agricultural Economics, is selected for the conference programme. Sessions cover topics such as agricultural trade and policy, environmental economics and policy, supply chain analysis, food demand and policy, behavioural economics, structural adjustment of agriculture, climate change impacts and mitigation, livestock production and disease, agricultural development, technology adoption, the economics of bioenergy, modelling and analysis techniques.

Submissions are possible in three categories:

Contributed Papers:  Contributed Papers will present theoretical developments in the field of agricultural economics or sound applications of theory for the benefit of decision making in the public or private sector. Contributed Papers will be allocated in thematic session, each paper with a 25 min slot (15 min talk and 10 min discussion). Presentations by PhD students will be embedded in the main Conference programme and specific feedback will be provided for the presenters. The best PhD presenter will be awarded with a prize of £100.

Discussion Papers:  The intention of these sessions is to provide a platform for authors to present work that considers new ideas and approaches, addresses issues relating to the more formative stages of a research project or more generally provides the basis for wider discussion. Each Discussion Paper will be allocated with a 30 min slot (20 min talk and 10 min discussion).

Paper template

Posters:  Posters are welcome to present research results or research of earlier stage. Two best poster prizes of £250 each will be awarded to two early career researchers. We acknowledge financial support of Wiley for these prizes.

Poster guidelines

Applications for the Contributed Paper sessions, Discussion Paper sessions and Poster session should all make use of the same template (ca. 500-1000 words), which can be found here (please upload your extended abstract in a pdf format).  

Accepted Contributed Papers (4000-8000 words) and Discussion Papers (4000-8000 words) and Posters will be made available to delegates through the AES website before the conference. In addition, papers from the conference are normally archived on the AgEcon Search repository at the University of Minnesota. If you would rather not have your paper included on AgEcon search, please let us know on the submission form.


Workshops are organised by members on current topics in Agricultural Economics and related fields. They might feature a set of talks with an extensive discussion or can have more interactive elements. Past workshops have addressed bio-economic modelling, the Green Revolution, uptake of low-carbon practices by farmers, organic products and consumer choice, Brexit and plant biosecurity.
Please contact the programme secretary if you are interested in organising a workshop. Please note that all workshop participants must register for the time that they are at the conference. For accepted workshops a small contribution to the expenses of speakers can be requested. The deadline for workshop proposals is 31st October 2022.

Important Dates and Information

Deadline for full paper submission and early bird registration:  1st March 2023

Please check UK visa requirements well in advance of travel.

Further details on the conference programme content will be available in February 2023.

Booking information 2023

Joining Instructions for Delegates 2023 – will follow in due course.

FAQ's – will follow in due course.

For all enquiries, please contact: frederic.ang@wur.nl

AES Annual Conference 27-29 March 2023
University of Warwick, UK...more

AES Newsletter
December 2022...more

AES Annual Conference 2023
27/03/2023 - 29/03/2023, Warwick, UK
Dates are provisional...more

United States Department of Agriculture
2 Agricultural Specialist - Open to: All Interested Applicants / All Sources...more